Florida

Summary:

Florida licenses dietitians and nutritionists as licensed dietitian/nutritionists under an exclusive scope of practice model. This law does not apply to other licensed health professionals. Only a licensed dietitian/nutritionist can provide nutrition care including: assessment, goal setting, counseling, or advice. Only licensed individuals may use the titles: "Dietitian," "Nutritionist," "Nutrition Counselor," "LD," "LN," "LNC," "or any other words, letters, abbreviations, or insignia indicating or implying that he or she is a dietitian, nutritionist, or nutrition counselor, or otherwise hold himself or herself out as such".

Click the buttons below to read the state statute and rules, or to navigate to the state regulatory entity's website.

Practice Act/Statute Rules & Regulations Regulatory Body

Qualification Requirements for State Licensure or State Certification:
  • Academic: Bachelor's or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management, or an equivalent major course of study.
  • Experience: Completion of at least 900 hours of preprofessional experience that must include a minimum of 200 hours each in clinical nutrition and community nutrition, or have education and experience determined to be equivalent by the Medical Board. Experience must be completed under the supervision of a licensed dietitian/nutritionist or someone equivalently prepared if the supervised practice was in another jurisdiction.
  • Examination: Board for Certification of Nutrition Specialists (BCNS) Certified Nutrition Specialist (CNS) exam or Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) Registered Dietitian (RD) exam.

Disclaimer: This is a preliminary interpretation of language of state statutes and regulations, and cannot substitute for legal counsel.